College is stressful enough as it is but I have this awful habit (more like a fatal disease that I can't seem to beat) called
P.R.O.C.R.A.S.T.I.N.A.T.I.O.N.
(the letters don't individually stand for anything but I wanted to space it out)
So here's my thinking process when shit NEEDS to be done:
Friday:
Teacher Lady: "I changed the due date on your paper to Wednesday instead of Monday."
My thought on that: "FUCK YEAHHH! I'm gonna go home and I'm gonna do it NOW! I'm gonna get ahead of schedule and NOT rush myself at the last minute!"
When I get home: "I'm so tired and I have until Wednesday. I'll do it this weekend, I PROMISE!"
It never fails. I ALWAYS break this promise.
Monday:
My alarm on my phone goes off telling me that my paper is due. I laugh "haha I forgot to change that! Thanks for reminding me Lucy (the phone). I get to that paper tonight."
What actually ends up happening: FACEBOOK, FACEBOOK, MIBBA, CRAFTSTER, PIZZA ROLLS, FACEBOOK, MIBBA. Not my paper.
Tuesday:
I forgot. Totally. Utterly. Forgot. . .
Until like 8 at night.
Me: "HOLY SHIT! MY PAPER'S DUE TOMORROW! I should write that. ooh look, Photobomb. Facebook. Plays with puppy."
9 o'clock: Mibba. Craftster. Thinking about words in Russian.
10 o'clock: "OH SHIT! MY PAPER!"
And then I start. . . and it gets interrupted by Facebook. Mibba. Pizza Rolls.
1 o'clock rolls around and I'm finally finishing up.
Now here's the bad part, the problems:
Everyone's ALWAYS been told this by their teachers:
"THIS IS NOT SOMETHING YOU CAN WAIT UNTIL THE LAST MINUTE TO DO!"
Note to the teachers: This is not a WARNING, but rather a CHALLENGE! This fuels my need to wait til the last minute if anything.
And it gets worse:
Most of the time, I get great grades. Maybe if once, JUST ONCE, I got a shitty grade and my teacher detected that my paper reeked of procrastination and called me out for it, maybe it's cure me of this disease.
This was me today. I have a MAJOR English paper due at 9 am tomorrow and I just finished it 40 minutes ago. And watch, I'll make a pretty descent grade. My last paper was written in the same fashion and I got a 87. Is it fair? Probably not. Am I complaining? Hell no. Do I think I'd do better if I wrote the paper early? I'm not sure. The ONE time I did a project early I was disappointed with the grade.
Is it that I do better under the pressure of procrastination or that the procrastination lowers my expected grade in my head? Maybe I get my hopes up too high when I write early and that's why I end up disappointed.
Whatever it is, I don't see me breaking this habit anytime soon.
спокойной ночи каждый
(Goodnight everyone [Or literally "Calm Night Everyone"])
BREAK ZE HABIT
ReplyDelete